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INTRODUCTION 1

Welcome to the Kentucky Tax Workshop on Sales and Use Tax.

This workshop is designed to provide a brief overview of the sales and use tax laws as they apply to sales
and purchases of tangible personal property by consumers. Emphasis will be placed on understanding
the difference between sales tax and use tax, the filing requirements of returns and some of the more
common exemptions that are available.

The Kentucky Revised Statutes and Administrative Regulations are also referenced to provide additional
resource material.

This workshop will provide Revenue employees with the basic tools needed to apply sales tax principles
to their respective jobs.

THE MISSION OF THE KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

The DOR’s Mission Statement, reflected in its philosophy and general strategy, is central to all of its work.
All of the DOR’s actions should reflect its mission and similarly, those actions should be judged by the
extent to which they help the Department of Revenue carry out its mission.

Within this framework, it is the mission of the DOR to:

Provide courteous, accurate and efficient service for the benefit of Kentucky and
its citizens, and administer the tax laws of the Commonwealth in a fair and
impartial manner.

To achieve its mission, the Department of Revenue will:

e Promote voluntary compliance with tax laws through educational programs and quality
taxpayer services;

e Inform the public of taxpayer rights and responsibilities;

e Establish and maintain clear, concise accurate and timely communication to foster positive
and constructed relations and a better understanding of tax laws;

e Collect and process receipts and returns as cost effectively and efficiently as possible;

e Develop and implement new and innovative programs to minimize non-compliance with tax
laws;

e Utilize information resources and expertise to serve in an advisory role;

e Acquire new technologies to implement and maintain a state-of-the-art tax administration
system;

o Enforce compliance when there is an intent to defraud or evade the taxes due the
Commonwealth; and

e Educate, train, develop and retain the qualified staff necessary to achieve its goals and
objectives.

This material is designed specifically for training purposes only. Under no circumstances should the contents be used or cited as
authority for justifying or sustaining a position taken by a Department of Revenue employee in a particular matter; instead, a
Department of Revenue employee should cite as authority for his or her action the appropriate statute and/or regulation.

References to the Kentucky Administrative Regulations and Kentucky Revised Statutes in this material are provided for
informational purposes only and do not constitute an official version.
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BASIC OVERVIEW OF SALES AND USE TAX 2

Background of the Sales and Use Tax in Kentucky

The first evidence of sales and use tax legislation in Kentucky can be traced back as
early as 1934, though short-lived. The tax was later repealed on January 15, 1936,
indicating the Commonwealth was not quite ready to support such legislation. Finally on
July 1, 1960, Kentucky became the 34" state to enact a sales and use tax policy. The
rate was set at 3 percent. Effective April 1, 1968, the rate was increased from 3 percent
to 5 percent. The last increase occurred 22 years later, effective July 1, 1990, when the
tax rate was raised to 6 percent. Over the years, the rate has increased to compensate
for the narrowing of the tax base.

As of June 30, 2009, there were 114,649 retail filers and 12,370 consumer use tax filers
registered with the Department of Revenue. Revenue generated from sales and use
tax accounted for some 35 percent of the General Fund for Fiscal Year 2008-2009. For
Fiscal Year 2008-2009, the sales and use tax generated $2.853 billion, down 0.7% from
the prior year. This is the first time in history that there has been an annual decline.

Makeup of FY09 General Fund
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Sales Tax

1. What is the sales tax?

The sales tax is a tax on tangible personal property and digital property sold, leased or
rented in Kentucky and selected services, and is imposed upon the seller. The tax is
levied on the seller as a cost of conducting business in the state.

KRS 139.200 Imposition of sales tax

A tax is hereby imposed upon all retailers at the rate of six percent (6%) of the gross receipts
derived from:
(1) Retail sales of:
(a) Tangible personal property, regardless of the method of delivery, made within this
Commonwealth; and
(b) Digital property regardless of whether:
1. The purchaser has the right to permanently use the property;
2. The purchaser’s right to access or retain the property is not permanent; or
3. The purchaser’s right of use is conditioned upon continued payment; and
(2) The furnishing of the following:
(a) The rental of any room or rooms, lodgings, or accommodations furnished by any
hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp, tourist cabin, or any other place in which rooms, lodgings,
or accommaodations are regularly furnished to transients for a consideration. The tax shall
not apply to rooms, lodgings, or accommodations supplied for a continuous period of
thirty (30) days or more to a person;
(b) Sewer services;
(c) The sale of admissions except those taxed under KRS 138.480;
(d) Prepaid calling service and prepaid wireless calling service;
(e) Intrastate, interstate, and international communications service as defined in KRS
139.195, except the furnishing of pay telephone service as defined in KRS 139.195;
(F) Distribution, transmission, or transportation services for natural gas that is for storage,
use, or other consumption in this state, excluding those services furnished:
1. For natural gas that is classified as residential use as provided in KRS
139.470(8); or
2. To a seller or reseller of natural gas.
Eff. 7/1/09

KRS 139.010 (17) (a) “Definitions for chapter”

(a) "Retailer” means:
(1) Every person engaged in the business of making retail sales or furnishing any
services included in KRS 139.200;
(2) Every person engaged in the business of making sales at auction of tangible
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personal property owned by the person or others for storage, use or other

consumption;

(3) Every person making more than two (2) retail sales during any twelve (12)

month period, including sales made in the capacity of assignee for the benefit

of creditors, or receiver or trustee in bankruptcy;

(4) Any person conducting a race meeting under the provision of KRS Chapter

230, with respect to horses which are claimed during the meeting.
(b) When the department determines that it is necessary for the efficient administration
of this chapter to regard any salesmen, representatives, peddlers, or canvassers as
the agents of the dealers, distributors, supervisors or employers under whom they
operate or from whom they obtain the tangible personal property sold by them,
irrespective of whether they are making sales on their own behalf or on behalf of the
dealers, distributors, supervisors or employers, the department may so regard them
and may regard the dealers, distributors, supervisors or employers as retailers for
purposes of this chapter.

KRS 139.210 Retailers powers to collect from consumer; separate display of
tax; taxes collected constitute debt to Commonwealth

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the tax shall be required to be
collected by the retailer from the purchaser. If the taxable goods are bundled with
services and are sold as a single package for one (1) price, the tax required to be
collected by the retailer from the purchaser shall be computed on the entire amount.
The tax shall be displayed separately from the sales price, the price advertised in the
premises, the marked price, or other price on the sales receipt or other proof of

sales.

(2) The department may relieve certain retailers from the provisions of subsection (1)
of this section of separate display of the tax when the circumstances of the retailer
make compliance impracticable. If the retailer establishes to the satisfaction of the
department that the sales tax has been added to the total amount of the sales price
and has not been absorbed by the retailer, the amount of the sales price shall be the
amount received exclusive of the tax imposed.

(3) The taxes collected under this section shall be deemed to be held in trust by the
retailer for and on account of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

(4) The taxes to be collected under this section shall constitute a debt of the retailer to
the Commonwealth.

2. How is the sales tax collected?

The seller must pay the sales tax to the Department of Revenue. The seller is required
to pass the tax directly on to consumers as outlined in KRS 139.210. However, the
seller must pay the tax on his taxable gross receipts whether the tax is collected from
the customer or not.
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3. How can a seller collect, from the consumer, the sales tax that they are
required to pay to the Department of Revenue?

The Department of Revenue has adopted KRS 139.230 as a method for eliminating
fractions of a cent to assist in the collection of tax from consumers. Selling prices must
be quoted exclusive of the tax. A seller is not required to individually mark the tax on
each item for sale.

KRS 139.230 Elimination of fractions of a cent

To eliminate fractions of one cent ($0.01), and to ensure that the aggregate collections of taxes
by a retailer, so far as may be practicable, shall be equal to six percent (6%) of gross receipts or
sales price the tax shall be computed by applying the six percent (6%) rate to the sales price
carried to the third decimal place and rounded to the nearest cent by eliminating any fraction
less than one-half of one cent ($0.005) and increasing any fraction of one-half of one cent
($0.005) or over to the next higher cent.

4. What is the “bracket system”?

Before July 1, 2004 the “bracket system” was a method adopted by the DOR for
collecting the tax so that the total amount of tax passed on to customers approximately
equaled 6 percent of the retailer's gross receipts. Effective July 1, 2004 legislation was
passed that rescinded use of the bracket method. The term “bracketing” the tax is
simply used to refer to passing the tax on to the consumers as a separate charge from
the sales price. This requirement is outlined in KRS 139.210.

5. May a retailer bracket the tax on a portion of retail sales and absorb the tax on
the remaining sales?

No. The seller must bracket the tax on all sales. The tax on vending machine sales may
be effectively collected through placing upon each machine a statement that indicates
the tax is included in the cost of the property dispensed.

6. Does the law require a seller to provide the purchaser with a receipt showing
the sales tax paid?

Yes. The tax required to be collected by the seller must be displayed separately from
the sales price, the price advertised in the premises, the marked price on the sales
receipt or other proof of sales. KRS 139.230
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BASIC OVERVIEW OF SALES AND USE TAX 7

7.

What kinds of receipts are subject to the sales tax?

The tax is due on gross receipts from (list not inclusive of all 139.200):

@roooop

the sale of tangible personal property to consumers;

the sale of digital property

leases or rentals of tangible personal property to consumers

sales of admissions (i.e., theaters, stadiums, etc.);

hotel and motel rentals to transients for less than 30 consecutive days;
charges for intrastate and interstate communication services; and

the sale of nonresidential utilities (sewer services, electricity, water and gas).

KRS 139.105 Sourcing of retail sales -- Communications services and digital
property.

(1) For purposes of the retailer's obligation to pay or collect and remit the taxes imposed by
KRS 139.200 and 139.310, the retailer shall source the retail sale, excluding sales of
communications services and digital property as follows:
(a) Over the counter. When the purchaser receives tangible personal property or service at
a business location of the retailer, the sale is sourced to that business location;
(b) Delivery to a specified address. When a purchaser or purchaser's donee receives
tangible personal property or service at a location specified by the purchaser, the sale is
sourced to that location; or
(c) Delivery address unknown. When the retailer of a product does not know the address
where the tangible personal property or service is received, the sale is sourced to the first
address listed in this paragraph that is known to the retailer:
1. The address of the purchaser;
2. The billing address of the purchaser; or
3. The address from which the tangible personal property was shipped; from
which the computer software was delivered electronically or was first available
for transmission by the retailer; or from which the service was provided.
(2) The retailer shall source communications services as follows:
(a) A sale of mobile telecommunications services, other than air-ground radiotelephone
service and prepaid wireless calling service, shall be sourced to the customer's or other
purchaser's place of primary use;
(b) A sale of postpaid calling service shall be sourced to the origination point of the
telecommunications signal as first identified by either the retailer's telecommunications
system or information received by the retailer from its service provider, where the system
used to transport the signals is not that of the retailer;
(c) A sale of prepaid calling service or a sale of a prepaid wireless calling service shall be
sourced according to the provisions of subsection (1) of this section. If the sale is of a
prepaid wireless calling service and the retailer does not know the address where the
service is received, the sale shall be sourced to the first of the following that is known by
the retailer:
1. The address of the customer available from the business records of the retailer;
2. The billing address of the customer;
3. The address from which the service was provided; or
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4. The location associated with the mobile telephone number;

(d) A sale of a private communications service shall be sourced as follows:

1. Service for a separate charge related to a customer channel termination point
shall be sourced to each level of jurisdiction in which the customer channel
termination point is located.

2. Service where all customer termination points are located entirely within one
(1) jurisdiction or levels of jurisdiction is sourced in the jurisdiction in which the
customer channel termination points are located.

3. Service for segments of a channel between two (2) customer channel
termination points located in different jurisdictions and which segments of
channel are separately charged shall be sourced fifty percent (50%) in each level
of jurisdiction in which the customer channel termination points are located.

4. Service for segments of a channel located in more than one (1) jurisdiction or
levels of jurisdiction and which segments are not separately billed shall be
sourced in each jurisdiction based on the percentage determined by dividing the
number of customer channel termination points in the jurisdiction by the total
number of customer channel termination points;

(e) A sale of an ancillary service is sourced to the customer's place of primary use; and
(F) A sale of other communications services:

1. Sold on a call-by-call basis shall be sourced based on the taxing jurisdiction
where the call either originates or terminates and in which the service address is
also located; or

2. Sold on a basis other than a call-by-call basis shall be sourced to the customer's
or other purchaser's place of primary use.

(3) The retailer shall source the sale of digital property to the place of primary use. For
purposes of this subsection, "place of primary use" means the street address where the end user
receives the digital property or from where the end user primarily accesses the digital property.
(4) Nothing included in subsection (1), (2), or (3) of this section shall affect the obligation of a
purchaser to remit use tax pursuant to KRS 139.310.

Effective: July 1, 2009

8. Are all sales of tangible personal property and digital property taxable?

No. There are four major groups of sales which are not taxable. These are:

a.
b.

C.
d.

sales of tangible personal property and digital property to another seller who
executes a resale certificate;

sales of property to be delivered by the seller to points outside of Kentucky;

sales of property which are specifically exempt under sales and use tax laws; and
occasional sales.
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9. What is an occasional sale?

An “occasional sale” is a sale of tangible personal property or digital property made by
the seller and for which the seller is not required to hold a permit. No more than two
sales may be made by a seller during any 12-month period. KRS 139.010(9).

10. Are occasional sales subject to the tax?

No, as long as there are no more than two sales in any 12-month period. Examples of
occasional sales are:

a. sales of office furniture by a service enterprise (law offices, accounting firms, etc.);

b. sales between individuals (such as boats, camping trailers and miscellaneous items).
c. sale of equipment by a construction company.

11. Are sales of real estate or intangible property taxable?

No. Sales of real estate and intangible property (such as goodwill, stocks and bonds)
are not taxable.
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Consumer Use Tax

1. What is the Consumer use tax?

The use tax is a tax on tangible personal property and digital property used in Kentucky
upon which the sales tax has not been paid. In other words, it is a sort of a “backstop”
for the sales tax. Property which is purchased, leased or rented outside of Kentucky for
storage, use or other consumption in this state is subject to the use tax.

KRS 139.310 Imposition of excise tax on storage, use, or other consumption.

(1) An excise tax is hereby imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of
tangible personal property and digital property purchased for storage, use, or other
consumption in this state at the rate of six percent (6%) of the sales price of the property.
(2) The excise tax applies to the purchase of digital property regardless of whether:
() The purchaser has the right to permanently use the goods;
(b) The purchaser's right to access or retain the digital property is not permanent; or
(c) The purchaser's right of use is conditioned upon continued payment.
Effective: July 1, 2009

KRS 139.500 Exemption from use tax of property subject to sales or gasoline
tax.

(1) The storage, use, or other consumption in this state of property, the gross receipts from the
sale of which are required to be included in the measure of the tax levied under KRS 139.200 is
not subject to the use tax.

(2) The storage, use, or other consumption in this state of gasoline or special fuels on which the
tax under KRS Chapter 138 has been paid and which is not subject to refund under KRS
138.341, 138.344, 138.445, 279.200, or 279.530 shall not be subject to the use tax.

Effective: July 13, 1990

2. Who is responsible for reporting and paying the use tax on out-of-state
purchases of tangible personal property and digital property brought into
Kentucky for use, storage or other consumption?

KRS 139.330 Purchaser's liability for use tax.

Every person storing, using or otherwise consuming in this state tangible personal

property and digital property purchased from a retailer is liable for the use tax levied under
KRS 139.310. His liability is not extinguished until the tax has been paid to this state, except
that a receipt from a retailer engaged in business in this state or from a retailer who is
authorized by the department, under such rules and regulations as it may prescribe, to collect
the tax and who is, for the purpose of this chapter relating to the use tax, regarded as a retailer
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engaged in business in this state, given to the purchaser pursuant to KRS 139.340 is sufficient
to relieve the purchaser from further liability for the tax to which the receipt refers.

The person who stores, uses or otherwise consumes the property is liable for use tax.
However, if the out-of-state supplier is a holder of a Kentucky sales and use tax permit,
he is required to collect and remit the tax to the Kentucky Department of Revenue The
purchaser must obtain from the out-of-state supplier a receipt showing that use tax has
been paid in order to be relieved of the use tax liability.

Businesses registered for sales and use tax must report their purchases subject to sales
and use tax on Line 23a of the Sales and Use Tax Return Form 51A102 and 51A103.
Businesses registered as consumers may use Form 51A113, and individuals or
businesses not normally required to register may use Form 51A113(0O).

Individuals purchasing boats, trailers, ATVs, and manufactured homes without payment
of tax to the seller must pay the use tax directly to the County Clerks upon registration
or titing. Individuals may also report use tax on their Kentucky Individual Income Tax
Return.

3. On what types of transactions may the purchaser be subject to the use tax?

The purchaser is subject to the Kentucky Use Tax on all out-of-state purchases in which
the retailer does not collect Kentucky tax.

Examples of such purchases would be:

Internet purchases from out-of-state retailers

Magazine subscriptions

Furniture

Jewelry

DVDs, books, and I-tunes

All-Terrain Vehicles

Recreational vehicles (excluding motorized vehicles that are licensed for over-the-
road use and are taxed under the motor vehicle usage tax law.)

@rpooow

4. How is use tax reported and remitted to the Department of Revenue by
persons who do not have a sales and use tax permit?

Persons who incur a use tax liability on a regular basis must register for a consumer use
tax account number. The Department of Revenue will assign the taxpayer a consumer
use tax account number and will send Form 51A113 on a regular basis.

Persons who incur a use tax liability on an irregular basis may report the use tax on
their Kentucky Individual Income Tax Return, Form 740 or 740-EZ, or on a Consumer
Use Tax Return, Form 51A113(0). Blank copies of this form may be obtained from the
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Kentucky Department of Revenue’'s web site: http://www.revenue.ky.gov/, or by
contacting the Division of Sales and Use Tax at (502) 564-5170, or from any of the
Kentucky Taxpayer Service Centers (Service Centers).

5. Can a taxpayer with a consumer use tax account number issue a resale
certificate and claim that their purchases are for resale?

No, consumer use tax account holders are not retailers and cannot issue a resale
certificate (Form 51A105). Consumer use tax numbers are identified by a unique range
of numbers (900000 series). Consumers are responsible for paying the tax on any
purchases of materials and supplies.
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Registration for Sales and Use Tax Permit

To register for the sales and use tax permit, the Kentucky Tax Registration Application
(Form 10A100) must be completed. This form must be filed with the Division of
Taxpayer Registration and Data Integrity or with any one of the Kentucky Taxpayer
Service Centers. Effective July 1, 2004, there is no longer a $10.00 license fee for each
sales and use tax permit issued.

It is possible to obtain a sales and use tax permit number the same day the taxpayer
applies for the permit if they personally visit one of the Service Centers. However, this is
done at the discretion of each Service Center. The application can be obtained by
calling one of the Department of Revenue offices or by visiting the Department of
Revenue web site http://www.revenue.ky.gov/.

1. What is the purpose of the sales and use tax permit?

The permit shows the seller is properly registered with the Department of Revenue and
that the retailer is authorized to collect the sales tax as required by KRS Chapter 139.
The permit must be posted in a conspicuous place in the retailer's business
establishment.

2. Who must obtain a sales and use tax permit?

All businesses or organizations making sales within Kentucky are required to register for
a Sales and Use Tax Account.

A permit is required for every person who sells, leases or rents tangible personal
property to consumers; who purchases property for resale; who charges taxable
admissions; who rents lodgings to transients; who sells water, gas or electricity; or who
furnishes sewer and communications services. Any salesman or manufacturer’s agent,
who solicits orders for a nonresident seller not registered in Kentucky, must obtain a
permit. An out-of-state retailer with physical presence in Kentucky is also required to
register, collect and remit the tax.

3. How does one distinguish between a retail sales tax number and a consumer
use tax number?

The sales and use tax number is six digits in length with the first digit ranging from 0-3
(e.g., 023418, 123456, 201220, or 301556). The consumer use tax number is also six
digits in length, but the first digit will always be a 9 (e.g., 902346 or 910342). Taxpayers
registered under the Consumer use tax account may not issue a resale certificate for
any purchase claiming that it is for resale because they are not retailers.

4. When is the sales and use tax return due?

Unless a permit holder is authorized to file quarterly or annually by the Department of
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Revenue, the return must be filed each month. The return is due on the 20" day of the
following month after the end of a month, quarter or year, depending on the filing
frequency.

An exception to this monthly reporting rule applies to taxpayers whose average monthly
liability exceeds $10,000 (accelerated filers). 103 KAR 25:131 The Accelerated Sales
and Use Tax Return, Form 51A103, is due on the 25" day of the following month after
the end of each month.

5. How are the filing frequencies of returns determined?

When a taxpayer registers for the sales and use tax permit, the Taxpayer Registration
Section places them on either a quarterly (tax liability under $500 a month) or monthly
(tax liability over $500 a month) filing frequency. This is determined by the estimated
gross monthly sales indicated on the registration application.

If the taxpayer indicates they have no idea what their gross monthly sales might be, the
filing frequency is usually determined by the business type (i.e., a restaurant would be
monthly, whereas a flea market would be quarterly).

In June of each year, each permit holder’'s tax payments are averaged and the filing
frequency is adjusted based on the authorized thresholds. The system is designed to
make the appropriate frequency changes and to notify the permit holder if a change in
filing frequency has occurred. These thresholds are:

a. $1,200 or greater in tax liability a year - monthly
b. Between $125 and $ 1,199 in tax liability a year— quarterly
c. Lessthan $125 in tax liability a year- annually

6. How do | notify the Department of Revenue of an address change or cancel
my sales and use tax permit if | no longer require one?

Taxpayers who request a cancellation of sales and use tax permits and other account
maintenance changes may complete the Account Maintenance Information, Form
51A205, found at the bottom of the Kentucky sales and use tax instructions. Requests
for cancellation of sales and use tax permit numbers, changes in business name,
changes in ownership, or changes in location and mailing addresses may be made by
completing this form. (Please note that changes in business name or changes in
ownership must be processed by the Taxpayer Registration Section)

This completed form may be mailed back to the department along with the sales and
use tax return in the envelope provided. Taxpayers may contact Taxpayer Registration
at (502) 564-3306, the Division of Sales and Use Tax at (502) 564-5170 or one of our
Service Centers for assistance when making changes to their accounts.
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Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Payments

For taxable periods beginning after December 31, 1994, KRS 131.155 provides the
Department of Revenue with authority to require certain taxpayers and other persons to
remit taxes by electronic funds transfer (EFT). The legislation for this payment method
was enacted to speed up the payment process.

Currently, taxpayers whose average payment per reporting period is $25,000 or more
are required to remit by EFT per Kentucky Regulation 103 KAR 1:060. However, DOR
has the authority by statute to require taxpayers whose average payment per reporting
period is at least $10,000 to remit by EFT. Most of these taxpayers are accelerated
filers.

Effective July 14, 2000, the Department of Revenue may also require reporting agents
whose aggregate payment on behalf of multiple taxpayers is in excess of the threshold,
or anyone who reports and pays for more than one hundred individual accounts, to
remit all payments via electronic funds transfer. The Department of Revenue will allow
permit holders whose average monthly payments are less than those stipulated to
register for the EFT program if they elect to do so. The filing of returns and remittance
of payments must still meet the Department of Revenue’s established due date
requirements.

What electronic methods are available for payment remittance?
EFT-Debit Method -The taxpayer initiates through the Department of Revenue. The

taxpayer authorizes the department, or its authorized agent, to initiate debit entries to
the taxpayer’s account.

EFT-Credit Method—The taxpayer initiates through their own bank. The taxpayer is
granted authority by the department to initiate Automated Clearing House credit
transactions to the Department of Revenue’s bank account.

Form 10A070 (1/99), Authorization Agreement for Electronic Fund Transfer, must be
completed by the taxpayer and submitted to the Electronic Commerce Section for
processing and authorization to begin remitting payment via EFT. The application
should be sent to: Kentucky Department of Revenue, Electronic Commerce, P.O. Box
181, Station 21, Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0181, phone: 1-800-839-4137 Fax (502)
564-6842.

E-Pay Method. The department accepts MasterCard or Visa credit card payments and
electronic checks. Secure Socket Layer (SSL) 128-bit encryption is used to safeguard
the security of credit card transactions. A convenience fee of 2.0% is required for credit
card transactions involving tax return payments. (The fee is 2.5% for bill payments.)
There is no convenience fee for electronic checks.
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Identifying electronic payments on the KYIMS system

To recognize EFT, E-Pay and credit card payments on the KYIMS system, the
validating numbers used to process the payments will help distinguish the type of
payment processed.

EFT payments will post to the system with a 7-digit validating number. The series
assigned to these payments begin with 9000000 and end with 9799999.

E-Pay and Credit card payments will also post to the system with a 7-digit validating
number. The series assigned to these payments begin with 9800000 and stops at
9999999.
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KY E-Tax—Electronic Filing and Payment System

The Department of Revenue provides Kentucky taxpayers with an option to file sales
and use tax returns electronically. KY E-Tax, found on the Kentucky Department of
Revenue web page, allows for electronic filing of returns and/or submission of payments
for sales and use tax. This option replaces Forms 51A102 and 51A103. (Consumer use
tax returns are not included.)

The E-file system allows taxpayers to file their returns online, view prior periods, assign
administrators and users, and select payment options. The E-Tax system will
automatically figure the return, compute the vendor compensation (if filed timely), and
compute any late filing penalty and interest. Unlike paper filed returns, Total Receipts
on the E-File return (Line 1 on the return) does not include the sales tax and there is no
1.06 deduction (Line 22 on the return).

Once a taxpayer elects to file electronically, the KYIMS system will no longer send
paper returns automatically. Taxpayers will need to contact the Department of Revenue
if a paper return is requested. When E-file returns are processed to the KYIMS system,
the validating number series assigned to these returns will begin with 3000000 and run
through 3199999. When the E-file return is processed to the sales tax system, a “filed
on-line” notation will appear at the bottom of the transaction history display for the
period.

To access the online filing web site, go to the Department of Revenue home page at
http://www.revenue.ky.gov/. Click on the KY E-Tax logo, and then click on Sales and
Use Tax Returns under E-Filing.
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2 Department of Revenue - E-Gov - Microsoft Internet Explorer
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Kentucky.gov

KY E-Tax Home

FAQs

Electronic Payment
Updated Tax Info
Security

Contact Us

Help

Exit KY E-Tax

epartment of Revenue

Logon

Registration Information for New Users

The Department of Revenue (DOR) offers KY E-Tax, an electronic filing/payment system
for registered business taxpayers. KY E-Tax allows for electronic filing of returns and
submission of payments for the following taxes:

Sales and Use Tax (Consumer use not included)
Streamlined Sales Tax

Motor Fuels Tax

Telecommunications Tax and

Utility Gross Receipts License Tax

KY E-Tax is Fast, Accurate, Secure, Convenient, and offers Confirmation of Filing!

& o -

& G % Local intranet

LI O N

& 5U.001 T sunni--Main - 10-1... G win dia Player 2} Department of Rev...

A Department of Revenue - E-Gov - Microsoft Internet Explorer
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Address ahttps:fp’kyegxzeusm.ky‘gDVp’KrcIf\Isp’Registrat\unInfD.aspx - Go Links
Registration Request |
KY E-Tax Home * Required Fields
FAQs The person named below will be the administrator for all online filing requests for this
Electronic Payment business, including other taxes as they become eligible for online filing. This person
must be a responsible officer of the company or authorized designee. The administrator
LR RErl will be able to grant single or multiple user access to other emplayess/users within your
Security business and outside your business (Accountant, CPA, Attorney, etc) who will need
Contact Us access to the KY E-Tax account information and services for preparing and filing returns,
making payments, or both for your business. The administrator will be the primary
Help contact for assigning and maintaining user IDs and passwords and will control the level
Exit KY E-Tax of access for each user. Therefore, it may be necessary for DOR to provide the
administrator's name and telephone number to other individuals requesting information
about online filing procedures related to your business.
Last Name: £
First Name: *
Middle Initial:
Title/Relationship: ACCOUNTANT v
E-Mail Address: | * 4
Phare Number: "R
Ext:
Enter the six-digit account number as it appears on the face of the tax return. Enter the
business name, including spaces, exactly as it appears on the first line of the return. It
I5 only necessary to register one tax account number for the business.
a8
@Done

) 5 ‘QLoca\ intranet
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Home

KY E-Tax Home
FAGQs
Electronic Payment

Updated Tax Info

Security
Contact Us
Help

Fwit KY F.Tav

Account Information

Welcome TIM BENNETT

Your Last  Successful

10/19/2009
Business Name
MOTION  PICTURE
CREDCIT

Business Location
POBORZIS T T
FRANFORT KY 40602

Mailing Address

P OBOX 181

P d
06,/01,/2009-06,/30/2009

Logon  was  on

PROD  REFUNDABLE

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIV OF SALES & USE BR MG

FILED ONLIMNE

>

If any of the information is incomrect click
here  to  submit corrected information.

Flease include your Sales Tax MNumber on
the e-mail.

Sales Tax

File Freguency:dnnual ~~
Frequency Effective Date:06/10,/2009
Account Status: Active

To view or file a return, click on the appropriate tax period. Paper filed returns are
not available to view online.

05/01/2009-05/31,/2009

FILED OMNLIMNE

04/01/2009-04/30/2009

FILED ONLINE

03/01/2009-03/31/2009

FILED QOMNLINE

02/01/2009-02/28/2009

FILED OMNLIME

01/01/2009-01/31/2009

FILED ONLINE

12/01/2008-12/31 /2008

FILED OMNLIMNE

11/01/2008-11/30/2008

FILED ONLIMNE

10/01/2008-10/31 /2008

FILED ONLINE

09/01/2008-09/30,/2008

FILED OMNLIMNE

08/01/2008-08/31 /2008

FILED OMNLIMNE

07/31/2008

FILED ONLINE

01/01/2007-12/31,/2007

FILED OMNLIMNE

01,/01/2006-12/31 /2006

FILED ONLINE

06/30/2006

FILED ONLINE

05/31/2008 FILED OMLIMNE
04/30/2000 FILED OMLIMNE
N=31 £200A ETL ED Ol THE
02/28/2008 FILED OMLIMNE
01/31/2006 FILED ONLINE
12/31/2005 FILED OMNLIMNE

An *X" indicates outstanding liabilities for this period. If you have questions please
contact Department of Revenue at 502-564-5170 or by e-mail at
KRCWebResponseETaxf@ky.gov.

[Selem anntherAccnuntH User Maintenance ]

mer | Individ
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epartment of Revenue - E-Gov - Microsoft Internet Explorer

File Edit Views Favorites Tools  Help
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Kentucky.gov
Sales Tax Return Summary
KY E-Tax Home Business Name: MOTION PICTURE PROD REFUNDABLE CREDIT
Period: 07/01/2008 - 06/30/2009
Electronic Payment Due Date: 07/20/2009
Updated Tax Info Date Filed: 07/02/2009
Security Filed By: T BENNETT
Yalidating Mum; 003061892
Contact Us Total due:{as of 07/20/2009) $5.90
Help
T [Total Rece|pt§ - Does not include sales tax collected $100.00
[Total Deductions $0.00
[Total Taxable Amount $100,00
[Total Tax $6.00 =
Vendor's Compensation $0.10
Met Tax Due $£5.90
[Total Due  (As of 07/20/2009) $5.90
Back
™
a B 5 ‘-':!Lucal intrangt
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2 Department of Revenue - E-Gov - Microsoft Internet Explorer

File Edit ‘Wew Favorites Tools  Help :

eBack M > |ﬂ @ h /__\J Search \?j1t( Favorites G} [-\’- ; W - _J ﬁ ‘3

Address |@ httpe ffleedervesstest 1 fKrcIfilefprotected/SalesDedList aspx?kecifile=2E4BA19300 1 6FE921 9E3E24A1 1 SE3S602C 1 7SDEA485468 1 ACBEI9CACCDODFC1 9F7BDEC 1 1 7DATEEEE34E V| Go Links

Kentucky.gov

Home
Sales Tax Deductions List
KY E-Tax Home
FAQs List of deductions categories available. Click the appropriate box to add or delete a
deduction. A box with a check mark in it indicates deductions selected,
Electronic Payment
Updated Tax Info Sales for which resale certificates received (Revenue Form 514105) ]
Security Sales for which agricultural certificates received (Revenue Forms 514158 & O ||
Contact Us 51A159)
Sales to charitable, religious, educational  institutions, where purchase
Help exemption certificates received (Revenus Form 514126)
Exit KY E-Tax Sales of tax exempt foods ]
Sales to government units 1
Sales in interstate commerce delivered to an out of state location by yourEI
vehicle, common carrier or LU, S, mail
Sale of gasoling or special fuels on which Kentucky motor fuels tax has been O
paid
Service & installation charges included in total receipts (Must be separately O
stated on customer invoice)
Returned merchandise on which tax was previously reported in prior months |0
Freight and delivery charges — No longer a valid deduction effective 7/1/2004 (O
Sales of prescription medicine, medical oxygen, prosthetics & physical aids O
Sales of all motor vehicles that are licensed for use on public highway & tax 0O
was paid under KRS 138,460
Sales for which enterprise zone certificates received (Revenue Forms 514151 0O
2 51A152)

Enter the description of any other deductions you wish to add:
(Effective 4/1/09 the sale of packaged distilled spirits, wine and malt beverages is not an eligible
deduction.)

To continue please cancel or save your selections,

Cancel Save

cy | Disclaimer | Individual th Disabilities Copyright 004 Commar
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Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System

The Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System, or Kentucky “no tax due” system, is a
telephone activated system that allows taxpayers to file “no tax due” sales and use tax
returns by calling a toll-free telephone number. No tax due returns may be filed for any
reporting period and the telephone call must be made by the date the return is due.

For sales tax filers, a business must have no sales for the period, or have sales that can
be adjusted or offset by one of the following deductions: sales for which resale
certificates were received, sales in interstate commerce, service and installation
charges, or sales of motor vehicles licensed for highway use. IVR may not be
used if more than one deduction is claimed or if consumer use tax is due. Taxpayers
who file by IVR will still receive paper returns but the returns are not to be sent back.

After an IVR call is completed, the system will end the call with a confirmation number
confirming the transaction is complete. Taxpayers should retain this number for their
records. The IVR toll-free number is 1-866-282-1851. The number is available 24
hours a day, seven days a week.

Once the return data is captured by IVR, the data is then configured and downloaded to
the mainframe where it is processed to the sales tax system. The return data is
processed to the system using validating numbers ranging from 2950000 to 2999999.
The Sales Tax System designates the return was IVR Filed as noted on the screen
print below.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE - SALES & USE TAX PAGE 01

SALES TAX RETURN FOR PERIOD ENDING REVSUO057
ACCT NO: ’
ST: ACTIVE 1 TOT RECEIPTS

DATE: 06/01/01 20 TOT DEDUCTIONS
21 NET RECEIPTS
22 TAXABLE RECEIPTS
23 AMT SUBJECT USE

(1) 24 TOT TAX AMOUNT
VAL: 002950161 J25 SALES & USE TAX
b H 26 TOT COMPENSATION

ORIGINAL RET 27 TAX DUE

UNAUDITED FIG 28 CREDIT CLAIMED

NO-OP 29 NET TAX DUE

(2) 30 PENALTY
VAL: 31 INTEREST
DATE: 32 TOTAL P & I Y
33 AMOUNT DUE ittt

AMT PAID ON RETURN
ADD'L CR MEMO APPL EEES R

ADJ: OTHER CREDL## P,
CR MEMO/AR
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Completing the Sales and Use Tax Return

FORMS 51A102 AND 51A102E—SALES AND USE TAX RETURN
(E Designates EFT Return)

Line 1, Total Receipts—The amount to be reported on this line is the seller's gross
receipts/sales and/or rental and lease receipts including sales tax collected. It is the
sum of total invoices for the period. (KRS 139.010(10)(a) “Gross Receipts”)

Line 2, Sales for which resale certificates received—The amount to be reported on Line
2 is the total dollar amount of sales where the seller accepted a Resale Certificate
(Form 51A105) from a retailer who intends to resale the property purchased. A
Kentucky purchaser must be registered with the Department of Revenue before he can
issue a valid resale certificate. The burden of proving that the sale is not taxable is on
the seller unless a valid certificate is accepted in “good faith.” Good faith shall be
demonstrated by the seller if he accepts and maintains on file a completed certificate. A
resale certificate is a statement by the purchaser to the effect that the property
purchased by him will be resold, leased or rented in his normal course of business. The
purchaser must list on the certificate the nature of his business, the nature of the
property purchased, his permit number, address and the date the certificate is signed.

If a seller regularly sells the same kind of merchandise to the same customer, a single
certificate known as a “blanket certificate” will be sufficient for all such sales and a new
certificate need not be signed each time a purchase is made. A manufacturer may
issue this certificate for industrial tools and supplies used directly in the manufacturing
process. KRS 139.470(11) gives the criteria necessary for items to qualify under this
exemption.

Line 3, Sales for which agricultural certificates received—The amount to be reported on
this line is the total dollar amount of exempt sales to farmers. Farmers must execute
Form 51A158, Farm Exemption Certificate, and Form 51A159, On-Farm Facilities
Certificate of Exemption for Materials, Machinery and Equipment, for all exempt
purchases. The seller must retain the completed certificates in his files.

Line 4, Sales for which purchase exemption certificates received—The amount to be
reported on this line is the total dollar amount of sales to nonprofit organizations.
Examples of such organizations include schools, churches, parent/teacher
organizations and other nonprofit 501C(3) organizations designated by the federal
government. A Purchase Exemption Certificate (Form 51A126) is a statement signed by
the purchaser to the effect that the property purchased will be used solely within the
exempt function of the nonprofit institution. These certificates may be issued only by
nonprofit charitable, educational and religious institutions or historical sites which have
gualified as exempt purchasers and have been issued a purchase exemption humber
by the Department of Revenue.
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Line 5, Sales of tax-exempt grocery store food—The amount to be reported on this line
is the total dollar amount of sales which constitute exempt foods. Grocers and similar
establishments may take this statutory deduction on food sales. (KRS 139.485)

Line 6, Sales to government units—The amount to be reported on this line is the total
dollar amount of sales to the units of local, state and federal governments and special
districts. The seller must maintain a copy of the exemption authorization letter granted
by the Department of Revenue for each organization in its files.

Line 7, Sales in interstate commerce delivered to an out-of-state location by seller
vehicle, common carrier or U.S. mail—The amount to be reported on this line is the total
dollar amount of sales made in interstate commerce. The seller ships the property out-
of-state; the buyer does not take possession of the property in Kentucky.

Line 8, Sales of gasoline or special fuels on which Kentucky motor fuels tax has been
paid—The amount to be reported on this line is the total dollar amount of gasoline and
special fuels. This includes gasoline sold at the pump, but does not include gasoline
sales at marinas or for other off-road usage, such as aircraft fuel. (KRS 139.480(16))

Line 9, Trade-in allowances (accrual method only)—Trade-ins must be of like-kind
property and the entire sales price must be included in line 1. The amount to be
reported on this line is the total dollar amount accepted as trade-in value. The trade-in
value is deducted from the initial purchase price before the sales tax is computed. (KRS
139.010(10)(a)(5)) Accrual method is defined as the reporting of taxable receipts and
the payment of the tax on the return at the time the retailer makes the sale.

Line 10, Service and installation charges—The amount of service and installation
charges must be included in line 1. The amount to be reported on this line is the total
dollar amount of charges for labor and other services used in installing or applying the
property sold. These charges must be separately stated on the customer’s invoice; if
not the charges are subject to tax. (KRS 139.010(10)(c)(4))

Line 11, Returned merchandise—The amount to be reported on this line is the total
dollar amount of merchandise returned by customers on which the sales tax has been
paid and reported in a prior month. The seller will credit the tax amount back to his
customer. (KRS 139.010(10))

Line 12, Bad debts and repossessions (accrual method only)— The seller may only
deduct bad debts if the tax was previously paid and the debt has been written off for
income tax purposes. Unhonored checks must be deducted on lines 18 and 19. (KRS
139.350)

Line 13, Freight and delivery charges—Effective July 1, 2004 Freight and Delivery
Charges are no longer a valid deduction. This deduction line remains on the
return and should be left blank.
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Line 14, Cash discounts (accrual method only)—The amount to be reported on this line
is the total dollar amount of cash discounts allowed and taken on sales (provided that
premium or trading stamps shall not be included as cash discounts. Line 1 must include
the amount of the sale before the discount. (KRS 139.010(10)(c))

Line 15, Sales of prescription medicines, medical oxygen, prosthetic devices and
physical aids—The amount to be reported on this line is the total dollar amount of sales
of prescription medicines, prosthetic devices and physical aids exempt under KRS
139.472.

Line 16, Sales of motor vehicles and motorcycles that have been licensed for use on the
public highways and the appropriate usage tax has been paid under KRS 138.460—
The amount to be reported on this line is the total dollar amount of motor vehicle sales
where the motor vehicle usage tax has been paid at the County Clerk’s office, where
vehicles are licensed. (KRS 139.470 (21))

Line 17, Sales for which enterprise zone exemption certificates received— Effective
01-01-08, all Enterprise Zones have expired. The Kentucky Enterprise Initiative
Act, (KEIA) effective January 1, 2006, replaced the original enterprise zone
legislation.

Lines 18 and 19, Other deductions—These deduction lines are for other exemptions
which are not listed on lines 2—-19. Examples of other deductions are lottery tickets and
water sold for equine use.

Line 20, Total deductions—The amount to be reported on this line is the total of lines 2-
19. Lines 2-19 are itemized deductions where the seller did not charge the sales tax.

Line 21, Net Receipts (including tax)—Line 21 is calculated by subtracting line 20 from
line 1. The amount on line 21 may never reflect a credit amount. The Department of
Revenue does not permit the processing of a return where the total deductions (line 20)
exceed total receipts (line 1).

Line 22, Taxable Receipts--Receipts subject to tax—Line 22 is calculated by dividing
line 21 by 1.06 to back the 6 percent tax out of that figure. Because the sales tax is
included in line 1 (gross receipts), it must be backed out so that the tax will not be
included twice.

Line 23(a), Cost of all tangible personal property and digital property purchased without
payment of the sales and use tax for business or personal use—Any item that is held in
inventory for resale purposes which is removed and used in a taxable manner or any
taxable out-of-state purchases for business use (property not held for resale) on which
tax was not paid must be reported on line 23(a).
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Line 23(b), Estimated energy purchases (EDP holders only)—EDP estimated payments.
This payment amount represents the estimated energy purchases consumed in the
production process for the reporting period. The sales and use tax does not apply to the
sale, use, storage or other consumption of energy or energy-producing fuels used in the
course of manufacturing, industrial processing, mining or refining to the extent that the
cost of all energy or energy-producing fuels used exceeds 3 percent of the cost of
production.

Taxpayers authorized for EDP should make estimated monthly tax payments. The
payment is computed by multiplying the cost of production by 3 percent and then
multiplying the resulting figure by 6 percent. The taxpayer is required to report and
make monthly payments equal to 1/12 of the total estimated tax. The energy direct pay
exemption transfers liability for any tax on energy purchases from the vendor to the
customer.

Line 24, Total taxable amount—Line 22 plus lines 23(a) and 23(b).

Line 25, Sales and Use Tax—Line 24 times (x) 6 percent (.06).

Line 26, Vendor's Compensation—The vendor’'s compensation can only be deducted if
the return and payment are timely. It is a discount in tax liability, which the taxpayer may
take for reporting and paying the taxes by the due dates. The compensation or discount
is computed by deducting 1.75 percent of the first $1,000 of line 25 and 1 percent of the
amount in excess of $1,000 of the total tax (line 25) (effective July 1, 2003, not to
exceed $1,500).

Effective July 1, 2004, the $1,500.00 cap was eliminated and not re-enacted in the
2004/2005 budget bill. July 1, 2005, the $1,500.00 cap was reinstated and still
remains in effect.

Line 27, Tax Due—Line 25 minus line 26.

Line 28, Pre-approved credits (indicate credit memo date)—Only credits previously
approved by the Department of Revenue can be claimed on line 28. The credit memo
date must be entered. At present, the Department of Revenue does not authorize such
credits except under special circumstances.

Line 29, Net Tax Due—Line 27 minus line 28.

Line 30, Penalty—KRS 131.180 provides the following penalties for late filing and late
payment: (a) If filed late, add 2 percent of line 29 for each 1- to 30-day period for which
the return is late, penalty not to exceed 20 percent of line 29. Minimum penalty of
$10.00 regardless of the amount of tax due or whether there is any tax due; (b) If paid
late, also add 2 percent of line 29 for each 1- to 30-day period, penalty not to exceed 20
percent, $10.00 minimum. (KRS 131.180)
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Line 31, Interest—Interest at the tax interest rate will be assessed as provided in KRS
131.183 from the original due date of the return until the date the tax is paid. The tax
interest rate for 2009 is 5 percent. Multiply the amount on line 29 times the tax interest
rate, divide by 365, times the number of days late. Effective May 1, 2008, all taxes
payable to the commonwealth that have not been paid at the time prescribed by statute
shall accrue interest at the base rate plus two percent. Interest paid on a refund shall
be paid on the base rate minus two percent from the date of the amended return.

Line 32, Total Penalty and Interest—Line 30 plus line 31.

Line 33, Total Amount Due—Line 29 plus line 32.

SALES TAX CREDITS AND REFUNDS

Credit for tax previously paid, for which a retailer has received a valid exemption
certificate or for which a retailer is claiming an allowable deduction, may be taken on the
sales and use tax return (Form 51A102). The deduction may be taken on lines 2
through 19 of the return designating the specific deduction line claimed. The deduction
may not be claimed if the deduction amount or the total amount of all deductions (line
20) exceeds the retailer’'s gross receipts for the period as reported on line 1 of the
return. If a retailer’'s total deductions (line 20) exceed the amount of gross receipts
reported on line 1, a credit may not be claimed and the retailer must apply to the
Department of Revenue for a refund. Line 28, pre-approved credits may not be used for
the purpose of claiming credits or refunds unless specifically authorized by the
Department of Revenue.

The Department of Revenue requires written documentation to substantiate all refund
claims. Copies of amended returns, invoices, exemption certificates and other
documentation should be provided with the refund request. All refund requests should
be submitted to the Division of Sales and Use Tax, P.O. Box 181, Station 67, Frankfort,
Kentucky 40602.

SALES AND USE TAX AUTOMATED SYSTEM (KYIMS)

The sales and use tax automated system performs a variety of functions essential to the
processing and balancing of returns. The system is able to calculate and balance
returns to deduct credits, to bill for errors and to “kick out” returns if additional
information is needed for processing. Kick-outs (Turn-Around Documents) must be
manually worked and resubmitted for processing by the system. The system is also
capable of maintaining credit balances. Credits must be manually entered by the user
in order for the system to trace the credit balance.
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Kentucky Administrative Regulation 103 KAR 25:131- Current month payment of
sales and use tax by larger taxpayers.

This regulation sets forth the requirements for larger taxpayers, whose average monthly
tax liability is $10,000 or more, to accelerate their tax payments on a monthly basis.

FORMS 51A103 AND 51A103E—ACCELERATED SALES AND USE TAX RETURN
(E Designates EFT Return)

The accelerated sales and use tax return is due on the 25th day following each calendar
month. All filers are registered on a monthly basis. Accelerated filing requires the
taxpayer to make an estimated or actual tax prepayment each month on line 27(b) of
the return. The taxpayer will then claim this credit or overpayment on the next month’s
return on line 28(a). Form 51A103 only differs from Form 51A102 by the due date and
by the lines designated for reporting the accelerated payment and credit.

There are currently 553 accelerated filers.
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Completing the Consumer Use Tax Return

FORMS 51A113 AND 51A113(0O)—CONSUMER USE TAX RETURN

Line 1, Total Sales Price—The total sales price is the total dollar amount of all
purchases of tangible personal property and digital property subject to use tax. The
taxpayer will complete the back of the return, listing the itemized purchases subject to
use tax for the period. For each purchase, the taxpayer must list the name and address
of seller, the description of the property, the date of purchase and the sales price of the
property purchased. The total sales price of property purchased from this list will be the
amount entered on line 1 of the return.

Line 2, Use Tax—The amount of use tax due is computed by multiplying 6 percent
times the amount on line 1.

Line 3, Compensation—The vendor’'s compensation can only be deducted if the return
and payment are timely. It is a discount in tax liability which the taxpayer may take for
reporting and paying the taxes by the due dates. The compensation or discount is
computed by deducting 1.75 percent of the first $1,000 of line 2 and 1 percent of the
amount in excess of $1,000 of the total tax (line 2); shall not exceed $1,500 (effective
July 1, 2003).

Effective July 1, 2004, the $1,500.00 cap was eliminated and not re-enacted in the
2004/2005 budget bill. Effective July 1, 2005, the $1,500.00 cap was reinstated
and still remains in effect.

Line 4, Tax Due—Line 2 minus line 3.

Line 5, Pre-approved Credits—Only credits previously approved by the Department of
Revenue can be claimed on line 5. The credit memo date must be entered. At present,
the Department of Revenue does not authorize such credits except under special
circumstances.

Line 6, Net Tax Due—Line 4 minus line 5.

Line 7, Penalty—KRS 131.180 provides the following penalties for late filing and late
payment:

(a) If filed late, add 2 percent of line 6 for each 1- to 30- day period for which the return
is late, not to exceed 20 percent of line 6, minimum penalty of $10 regardless of the
amount of tax due or whether there is any tax due;

(b) If paid late, also add 2 percent of line 6 for each 1- to 30- day period, penalty not to
exceed 20 percent, $10 minimum. (KRS 131.180)

Penalty Note: For any jeopardy assessment or estimated assessment issued for
periods after January 1, 2003, the minimum late file penalty will be $100.00. This
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includes zero tax due returns that are filed late when a jeopardy or estimated
assessment has been issued.

Line 8, Interest—Interest at the tax interest rate will be assessed as provided in KRS
131.183 from the original due date of the return until the date the tax is paid. The
current tax interest rate is 5 percent. Multiply the amount on line 6 times the current
interest rate, divide by 365, times the number of days late. Effective May 1, 2008 all
taxes payable to the commonwealth that have not been paid at the time prescribed by
statute shall accrue interest at the base rate plus two percent. Interest paid on a refund
shall be paid on the base rate minus two percent from the date of the amended return..

Line 10, Total Amount Due—The sum of lines 6, 7 and 8.
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Commonly Asked Questions

1. Does a wholesaler need to register for a sales tax permit number?
Yes. Even though sales are for resale, the wholesaler must still report sales made.

2. Can retailers absorb the tax instead of using the bracket system?
No. Retailers must bracket the tax and collect it from their customers.

3. Must a sales tax return be filed even though no sales were made for the
period?
Yes. The return must still be filed by the due date. A minimum $10.00 penalty is
assessed for late filing.

4. Can contractors purchase materials exempt from tax if they are doing a job
for a nonprofit or governmental entity?
No. Contractors may not use the exempt status of these entities to purchase
materials tax exempt.

5. Where do I report the sale of business assets on the sales tax return?
If the seller collects the tax on the sale of the business assets, the receipts should
be reported on line 1, Total Receipts. If the buyer reports the tax, line 23(a) may be
used to report the sale of business assets.

6. How do you compute the vendor’'s compensation?
The computation is 1.75 percent of the first $1,000 plus 1 percent of any amount
above $1,000. Effective July 1, 2005, the $1,500.00 cap was re-enacted by the
General Assembly. Vendor's compensation may only be claimed if the return is
filed and paid by the due date.

7. How do | compute interest on the return?
Multiply the amount of tax due times the tax interest rate, divide by 365, times the
number of days the return is late (for leap year, use 366).

8. How far can | go back to amend returns?
Four years from the due date of the return or when the tax was actually paid, which
ever is later. Amended returns should be mailed to the Division of Sales and Use
Tax PO Box 181 Frankfort, KY 40602-0181.

9. What if the return due date falls on a holiday or weekend?
The return due date will then be extended to the next business day.

10. If  am an individual who owes use tax to the Department of Revenue, how do |
report the tax?
An individual taxpayer may report the use tax on the individual income tax return for
the year or file the Consumer Use Tax Return (51A113(0)).
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11

12.

13.

14

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

. Do farmers have to register for sales tax numbers to make exempt
purchases?

No. They issue agricultural certificates Form 51A158, Farm Exemption Certificate
and Form 51A159, On-Farm Facilities Certificate of Exemption for Material,
Machinery and Equipment, to their vendors.

How can a Consumer use tax number be identified?
It is a six-digit number beginning with a 9, commonly referred to as “900,000 series”
account numbers.

Can a consumer use tax holder issue aresale certificate for purchases?
No. The resale certificate specifically states a consumer may not issue this
certificate.

. What are some examples of exemption certificates that a contractor may issue
to a supplier?
Certificate of Exemption Machinery for New and Expanded Industry, Form 51A111,
Certificate of Exemption for Pollution Control Facilities, Form 51A149, and On-Farm
Facilities Certificate of Exemption for Materials, Machinery, and Equipment, Form
51A159. The certificate must be initiated by the exemption holder.

What is the difference between the sales tax and the use tax?

Sales tax is imposed on the seller; use tax is imposed on the seller or buyer. A
remote seller doing business in Kentucky is required to collect use tax. Sales tax is
imposed on retail sales made within Kentucky, while use tax is imposed upon retail
transactions made outside Kentucky for tangible personal property and digital
property for storage, use or other consumption in Kentucky.

Must Consumer use tax returns be filed if there is no tax due for the period?
No. The system does not create a delinquency notice for returns not filed.

What services in Kentucky are subject to sales tax?

Services subject to sales tax are the furnishing of sewer services and intrastate and
interstate communications service, admissions and rental of any room or rooms,
lodging or accommodations less than 30 days, natural gas transmissions for
delivery and use in Kentucky.

Where may | obtain a temporary vendor’s license?
The Service Centers located throughout the state assign temporary numbers in the
areas of their region.

Where may | obtain a regular sales tax permit registration form?
You may contact Taxpayer Registration at (502) 564-3306, the Sales and Use Tax
Division at (502) 564-5170, Fax-on-Demand System at (502) 564-4459, any one of
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our Service Center locations, or by visiting the Kentucky Department of Revenue
web site http://www.revenue.ky.gov/.

20. Is setting up an Internet web site subject to sales tax?
No.

21. Arethe sales tax returns available for downloading over the Internet?
No. The forms are preprinted with specific taxpayer information used in processing
the return and must be requested from the Department of Revenue.

22. What is the purpose of the sales and use tax permit?
The permit letter is issued as proof the business is registered for sales tax. It should
be placed visibly at the business location so customers can see it.
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Legislation Affecting Retailer and Use Tax Account Holders

2003 Legislation

VENDOR COMPENSATION

The vendor compensation can only be deducted if the return and payment are timely. It
is a discount in tax liability, which the taxpayer may take for reporting and paying the
taxes by the due dates. The compensation or discount is computed by deducting 1.75
percent of the first $1,000 of line 25 and 1 percent of the amount in excess of $1,000 of
the total tax (line 25). Effective July 1, 2003 the amount paid to a vendor for the
collection of sales tax is capped at $1,500 for each reporting period.

STREAMLINED SALES AND USE TAX AGREEMENT (HB 293) (EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
2004)

During the 2003 legislative session, the Kentucky General Assembly enacted HB 293 to
conform to the uniform standards of the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement (SSUTA).

The Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP) was organized in March of 2000 with a wide
range of participation from state and local tax administrators, state and local
government representatives, and private industry groups. On November 12, 2002, 30
states (including Kentucky) and the District of Columbia approved the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA). The goal of this project is to simplify and
modernize sales and use tax collection and administration so that Main Street
merchants as well as remote sellers can more easily comply with the multiple tax
requirements of various states. The agreement provides for a central online registration
system and the online filing of tax returns for out-of-state retailers who elect to register
and report tax to member states adopting the agreement. The agreement also provides
for various uniform definitions, such as tangible personal property. There is a link to the
project website on the Department’s Sales and Use Tax page.

The SSUTA officially became effective October 1, 2005. Currently, 23 member states
are actively participating in the agreement and approximately 1,200 streamlined filers
have registered. For Fiscal year 2009, Streamlined sales tax filers remitted over $12
million to Kentucky. Of this total, $6.3 million has come from new account holders not
previously registered in the state. The cumulative Kentucky Streamlined payments for
filings since November 2005 total $36.5 million.

As of June 2009, new money for Governing Board states exceeds $448 million.
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SST Model Numbers

To participate in the SSTA, registrants must select from 4 model types. Model numbers
1, 2, 3, and 4 refer to different registration filing models used for submitting SST returns.
All models file with each respective SST state.

Model 1 filers must contract with a Certified Service Provider (CSP) to file returns
and payments on their behalf. The CSP accesses Kentucky’s web service to upload the
information into DOR’s system. To date there are four CSP’s on board — Avalara,
ADPTaxware, Exactor, and SpeedTax.

Model 2 filers have purchased a Certified Accounting System (CAS) and are
responsible for filing their own returns and payments.

Model 3 filers possess an accounting system approved by the SST Governing Board
and are responsible for filing their own returns and payments. None are certified at this
time.

Model 4 filers are all other taxpayers who elect to collect and remit sales tax under the
streamlined agreement. Model 4’s must file returns through DOR’s web site.

SST Registration

Streamlined filers must register and file returns for all full member states. All taxpayers
participating in the SST agreement must register on-line at the SST national web site at
https://www.sstreqgister.org/sellers/Entry.aspx.  The on-line registration system will
automatically assign each taxpayer a 9-digit alpha numeric SST number and will require
the taxpayer to select a password. The same SST number and password are also used
by the taxpayer (Model 4 filers only) to file the Simplified Electronic Return (SER)
and Information Return (IR) on the DOR’s web site.
https://rfo2zeus.state.ky.us/krcifile/SSTP ~ Once registered, the SU system will assign
the taxpayer a Kentucky Sales Tax Number, but will not send paper returns.

SST Simplified Electronic Return (SER)

The Simplified Electronic Return (SER) is an on-line return that does not require
taxpayers to itemize all deductions. The SER will allow for 6 itemized deductions in
addition to a line for reporting total deductions claimed. Similar to the On-Line return in
the E-Tax System, line 1 of the SER return (Taxable Receipts) does not include the
sales tax collected. All SST filers use the same return format for each member state.
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SST Information Return (IR)

The Information Return (IR) is an on-line reconciliation return that is filed every 6
months, normally in March and October of each year. The information return itemizes
each deduction claimed from the SER'’s filed for the 6 month period. Kentucky is one of
few member states that require the filing of this return. Elimination of the IR, with a
reformatting of the SER, is in process.

LEGISLATIVE IMPACT OF STREAMLINED AGREEMENT
EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2004

Freight and Delivery - Charges by a retailer for freight and delivery of a taxable
product are subject to the sales tax. This includes shipping and handling charges,
postage fees, and similar transportation charges whether the charges are separately
stated on the invoice or not. If the property purchased is exempt from sales tax, the
associated freight and delivery charges will also be exempt. Transportation companies
who provide a transportation service but do not sell tangible personal property are not
retailers and do not charge sales tax to their customers.

Downloaded Tangible Personal Property - All downloaded property such as software,
books, music, and movies either from the internet or by other electronic means are
subject to sales and use tax. Software that is not prewritten (custom), but specifically
designed to fit the needs of a specific purchaser, is not subject to sales tax whether
downloaded or provided in tangible form.

Effective July 1, 2009, the retail sale of digital property accessed or obtained
(transferred electronically) by the purchaser is subject to 6% Sales and Use Tax.
Categories of digital property include digital audio works, digital books, finished artwork,
digital photographs, periodicals, newspapers, magazines, video greeting cards, audio
greeting cards, video games, electronic games, and digital code related to this property.
(HB 347)

Prescription Medicines, Prosthetic Devices, Mobility Enhancing Equipment (MEE)
and Durable Medical Equipment (DME)-KRS 139.472 - SST Legislation has helped to
significantly improve this area of tax administration and compliance. Historically,
Kentucky’s exemptions were very narrow and generated a significant amount of
litigation.

Effective July 1, 2004, the prescription drug exemption was expanded to cover legend
drugs purchased for the treatment of a human being if dispensed by a licensed
pharmacist, administered by a physician or other healthcare provider, or distributed as a
free sample to or from a physician’s office. At the same time the prosthetic device
exemption was broadened to apply to all healthcare providers rather than to just
hospitals and non-profit 501(c)(3) entities. Prosthetic devices are exempt when
purchased by a healthcare provider for the treatment of specific patients or when
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purchased under a prescription by an individual patient. Prosthetic devices individually
designed or created for a specific person also qualify for the exemption regardless of
who the purchaser is.

Effective June 20, 2005, the category of mobility enhancing equipment for which a
prescription is issued became exempt. Previously various items in this category when
purchased by individuals for private use were exempt such as wheelchairs, crutches
and walkers. However, other items such as walking canes, trapeze devices, chair lifts
and transfer boards were taxable.

Effective August 1, 2008, an over-the-counter (OTC) drug purchased for human use for
which a prescription is issued became exempt. Historically, Kentucky had exempted
OTC drugs when prescribed by a physician and dispensed by a licensed pharmacist,
but the July 1, 2004, SST changes that broadened the exemption for legend drugs also
eliminated the OTC exemption with a prescription.

Effective July 1, 2009, durable medical equipment (DME) for which a prescription is
issued became exempt from sales and use tax. Prior to this change, only limited DME
items purchased by individuals for private use such as hospital beds and certain
medical oxygen delivery equipment were exempt.

Please note that for prosthetic devices, MEE and DME the exemption also includes
repair and replacement parts for the same. Prior to these legislative changes there was
debate and litigation regarding the eligibility of these parts. However, for all MEE and
DME and for prosthetic devices purchased by the individual for private use, the repair
and replacement parts must be prescribed for the exemption to apply.

These legislative updates have also helped to resolve disputes related to Medicare and
Medicaid eligible purchases and whether the purchase is made directly by a
governmental entity or a third party administrator. Since items eligible under either the
Medicare or Medicaid program require a prescription, the exemption will apply if the
product falls within one of the exempt categories outlined in statute.

Food and Food Products-KRS 139.485 - Under this amendment the term food and
food ingredients means substances whether in liquid, concentrated, solid, frozen, dried,
or dehydrated form, that are sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and are
consumed for their taste or nutritional value. Food does not include alcoholic
beverages, tobacco, candy, dietary supplements, soft drinks, and prepared foods.
Prepared foods mean foods that are sold in a heated state or heated by the retailer; two
(2) or more food ingredients mixed or combined by the retailer for sale as a single item;
and food sold with eating utensils provided by the retailer.

Leases and Rentals — 103 KAR 28:051(3) — Lease means any transfer of possession
or control of tangible personal property for a fixed or indeterminate term for
consideration.

(1) Gross receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal property shall include:
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(a) The total amount of payments, or consideration received by the lessor from the
lessee;
(b) Payments paid by the lessee to a third party for the benefit of the lessor which
are required by the terms of the agreement; and
(c) All itemized charges for costs incurred by the lessor and passed on to the lessee
as separate charges in the lease or rental agreement including finance or interest
charges, property tax, and insurance charges.
(2) Charges by a lessor to a lessee for a separately-executed maintenance agreement,
which is not a part of the lease or rental agreement, shall not be subject to tax.

Sourcing Rules- KRS 139.105 — The sourcing rules adopted under the Streamlined
agreement are compatible with the sourcing rules historically followed by Kentucky. A
sale is considered taxable in the state or location where the sale is made unless the
sale is considered a sale in Interstate Commerce. If the purchaser takes possession of
the property at point of sale in Kentucky, the sale is considered taxable in Kentucky.
However, with the adoption of the new SSTA sourcing rules on July 1, 2004, receiving
the product in Kentucky does not include possession by a shipping company on behalf
of the purchaser located out of state.

For example, if a shipping company, on behalf of an out-of-state purchaser, takes
possession of the product and delivers the product to the purchaser out of state for use,
the product will not be considered as received in Kentucky. However, this does not
affect transactions where the purchaser or purchaser’s representative takes possession
in Kentucky before arranging for delivery to an out-of—state location. If the purchaser or
his representative buys the product at the seller's Kentucky location, then the
transaction will be sourced as an over-the-counter sale taxable in Kentucky.

Previous editions of Kentucky Sales Tax Facts for April, May, and June 2004 highlight
the original SSTA changes in Kentucky’s tax code. All three of these newsletters may
be accessed as well as other materials regarding the Streamlined Sales Tax Project
(SSTP) at http://www.revenue.ky.gov/. You will need to select the Publications button
on the left side of the screen to view the newsletters.

2005 Leqgislation

KENTUCKY ENTERPRISE INITIATIVE ACT (KRS 154.20-200)

Effective January 1, 2006, a new statewide tax incentive program replaced the
Enterprise Zone Program. House Bill 272 created a new section of KRS 154 that allows
eligible companies to receive refunds of sales and use tax paid on the purchase of
building materials and research and development (R&D) equipment for an approved
project. Only businesses primarily engaged in manufacturing, service or technology, or
developing a tourism attraction are eligible to apply for the tax incentives. Companies
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seeking to participate in the incentive program must apply for eligibility through the
Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority (KEDFA).

All areas require a minimum investment of $500,000. A yearly statewide cap of $20
million for building materials and $5 million for R&D equipment exists on all approved
projects. During the 2009 Special Session, the R&D exemption was expanded to
include electronic processing equipment costing at least $50,000. However, the $5
million annual cap was not increased.

After receiving approval from KEDFA, a company must file Form 51A200, Application
for Kentucky Enterprise Initiative Act (KEIA) Tax Credit Program, with the Department of
Revenue, Division of Sales and Use Tax. Form 51A200 must be filed within 60 days of
completion of the project or the expiration of the life of the project, which ever comes
first.

As of December 31, 2007, all existing enterprise zones have expired.

TELECOMMUNICATIONS EXCISE TAX (KRS 136.600-136.660)

Effective January 1, 2006 Chapter 136 established a 3 percent excise tax on multi-
channel video programming services (cable service, satellite broadcast, and wireless
cable service), a 2.4 percent gross revenues tax on multi-channel video programming
services, and a 1.3 percent gross revenues tax on communications services (unlike
sales tax, this term includes pay phone service and ring tones). A percent of receipts
from these excise taxes is distributed by the Department of Revenue to local political
subdivisions, school districts, special districts, and sheriffs.

Though not a sales tax, the telecommunications tax is administered by the Division of
Sales and Use Tax and is similar to the design of the sales and use tax return.

2007 Leqislation

KENTUCKY SIGNATURE PROJECT (KRS 139.515)

KRS 139.515 establishes a refund credit to an agency as defined in KRS 65.7045, for a
signature project that meets the requirements of KRS 65.7075. Subsection 2 of
139.515 provides a refund of the sales and use tax paid on the purchase of the tangible
personal property used in the construction of the portion of the signature project that
does not relate to approved public infrastructure costs or approved signature project
costs.

To apply for refund, an approved Signature Project company or agency must file
Revenue Form 51A291, Application for Kentucky Signature Project Sales and Use Tax
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Refund, with the Department or Revenue. Claims for refund must be filed annually,
within 60 days following the end of the fiscal year in which the project grant is executed,
and shall cover purchases made during the immediately preceding year.

In addition, Information Sharing and Assignment Agreements for designated refund
claims (Form 51A290), the Expenditure Report for Signature Project Refunds (Form
51A292), and a copy of at least one invoice from each vendor must be submitted with
each refund application. As of 12/31/08 there are seven approved signature projects.

Once completed, each signature project participates as a TIF (Tax Increment Financing)
partner and shares in a portion of the annual incremental sales tax revenues arising
from the footprint of the project, up to the designated approved costs per KRS 65.7075.

ALTERNATIVE FUEL, GASIFICATION or RENEWABLE ENERGY FACILITY (KRS
139.517)

House Energy Bill (HB 1)—Created in the 2007 special session, it established two new
provisions for sales and use tax refunds related to energy facilities and energy efficiency
machinery or equipment. KRS 139.517 provides a sales tax incentive for approved
alternative fuel, gasification and renewable energy facilities. The approved company
may receive up to 100 percent of the sales tax paid on tangible personal property used
to construct, retrofit or upgrade an approved facility.

This exemption does not apply to the purchase of operating supplies, or repair,
replacement or spare parts. (KRS 154.27-070) The approved company shall file a
request for refund with the Department of Revenue (DOR) within 60 days following the
end of the calendar year in which the activation date occurs per KRS 154.27-010. The
approved company seeking the incentive must also execute information sharing
agreements with contractors, vendors and other related parties.

KRS 139.518 creates a refund incentive for energy efficiency machinery or equipment
used at manufacturing plants. “Energy efficiency project” is defined in the statute to
mean a project where a manufacturer purchases new or replacement machinery or
equipment for the plant facility that reduces the consumption of energy and energy-
producing fuels used in the manufacturing process in the plant by at least 15 percent.
The manufacturer must apply for pre-approval with the department; document the
amount of energy used in the 12 months prior to application; document the achievement
of the energy efficiency standards within 18 months after the machinery is placed in
service; and file for a refund of the sales tax paid on the machinery.

The effective date for both sales and use tax provisions in the bill is Aug. 30, 2007.
However, the sales and use tax exemption for the energy-efficiency portion will apply
only to purchases made on or after July 1, 2008.
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2008 Leqgislation

HB 629 contains revisions to KRS Chapter 139 (sales and use tax law). The statutes
listed below were either moved, repealed, or amended effective August 1, 2008.

KRS 139.010 Definitions for chapter was amended to include the following new
definitions:

KRS 139.040 Definition of Business
KRS 139.050 Gross Receipts

KRS 139.060 In This State

KRS 139.070 Occasional Sale

KRS 139.080 Person

KRS 139.090 Purchase

KRS 139.095 Recycling Purposes
KRS 139.100 Retail Sales

KRS 139.110 Retailer

KRS 139.120 Sale-Lease or Rental
KRS 139.140 Seller

KRS 139.150 Storage

KRS 139.160 Tangible Personal Property
KRS 139.170 Definitions

KRS 139.180 Taxpayer-Department
KRS 139.190 Use

KRS 131.183 - INTEREST PROVISIONS

Effective May 1, 2008, all taxes payable to the Commonwealth that have not been paid
at the time prescribed by statute shall accrue interest at the base rate plus two percent;
when interest is paid on a refund, interest shall be paid at the base rate minus two
percent.

2009 Leqislation

KRS 139.010 (24)(c) (1) — DEFINITION OF RETAILER

Effective August 1, 2009, amends Section 24(c) (1) definition of retailer to exclude
person making sales at a charitable auction.

HB 144 — SALES TAX CHANGES FOR PACKAGED LIQUOR

HB 144 was recently passed by the General Assembly and signed into law by Governor
Beshear on February 13, 2009. As part of this bill, KRS 139.470(23) was repealed to
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eliminate the sales tax exemption for the sale of packaged distilled spirits, wine and malt
beverages not consumed on the premises licensed for their sale per KRS 243.

Effective April 1, 2009 the sale of packaged liquor including beer, wine, and distilled
spirits is subject to the 6% Kentucky sales and use tax. Deductions previously taken for
sales of beer, alcoholic beverages, or packaged liquor are no longer allowable.

HB 53 — TITLING OF ATV’'S
Effective July 1, 2010, ATV'’s are required to be titled at the County Clerk’s Office. The
Clerk’s office will collect the applicable use tax on ATV’s purchased from out of state

retailers without payment of the tax.

2009 SST Legislation

HB 347 - DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT

Effective July 1, 2009, the purchase of durable medical equipment, including
hospital beds, is exempt from sales tax when the purchaser buys the
equipment under a prescription.
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Kentucky Revised Statutes

Department of Revenue statutes:

KRS 131.010
KRS 131.155

KRS 131.180

Definitions for chapter

Department’s authority to require certain taxpayers and other
persons to remit taxes by electronic fund transfers; administrative
regulations; waiver of requirement; refund by electronic fund
transfer

Uniform Civil Penalty Act

Kentucky Enterprise Initiative Act statute

KRS 154.20-206

Authorization of sales and use tax refund for approved company --
Administrative regulations.

Sales and Use Tax statutes:

KRS 139.010
KRS 139.200
KRS 139.210

KRS 139.230
KRS 139.270
KRS 139.310
KRS 139.330
KRS 139.350
KRS 139.470
KRS 139.472

KRS 139.480
KRS 139.485
KRS 139.495
KRS 139.570
KRS 139.980

Definitions

Imposition of sales tax

Retailers powers to collect from consumer; separate display of tax;
taxes collected constitute debt to Commonwealth

Elimination of fractions of a cent

Resale certificate

Imposition of use tax

Purchaser’s liability for use tax

Exception in the case of worthless accounts

Exempt transactions

Exemption of prescription medicines, prosthetic devices, mobility
enhancing equipment and durable medical equipment

Property exempt

Exemption of food items

Application of taxes to resident non-profit Institutions

Withholding taxpayer’s collection costs

Civil penalties

All Sales and Use Tax statutes can be found at the Legislative Research Commission’s
website: http://www.Irc.ky.gov/KRS/139-00/CHAPTER.HTM
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Kentucky Administration Regulations

103 KAR 25:131
103 KAR 26:110
103 KAR 26:120
103 KAR 28:051
103 KAR 30:091
103 KAR 30:140
103 KAR 30:235
103 KAR 31:111

Current month payments of sales and use tax by larger taxpayers
Motor carrier repair and replacement parts

Advertising agencies

Leases and Rentals

Sales to farmers

Energy and energy-producing fuels

Sales to the federal government

Sales and purchases for resale

All Kentucky Administrative Regulations can be found at the Legislative Research
Commission’s website: http://www.Irc.ky.gov/kar/titles.htm
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Applications, Tax Forms and Exemption Certificates

Sales and Use Tax forms can be found at:
http://www.revenue.ky.gov/forms/cursalefrm.htm

Address |@ http: fhenee. revenue. k. gov/forms/cursalefrm. htm v ‘ Go Links
Py

Kentucky.gov

net

Current Year Sales & Use Tax Forms

_ [__Related Content ]
—.-~ | Current Year Sales & Use Tax Forms e e
Kﬂ‘?ﬂlggy E-Filing and Payment
Downloadable forms & instructions Options

Tax Forms N

Current Year Forms Form Name File .
Size
Prior Year Forms

Collection Forms

gg:;?:t o m—— Resale Certificate (Sales & Use Tax) - Forrm 514105 26K I
Application for Energy Direct Pay Authorization - Form SO | | lneome Tax Forms
Individual 514100 Requisition (67K)
Withholding Tax Certificate of Exemption, Machinery for New & Expanded 65K %ﬂi;t‘m“
, Industry - Form S1A111 included in this list,
Business
- spplication for Direct Pay Authorization - Form 514112 43K
Tax Professional
Laws & Regulations Consumer's Use Tax Return - Form 514113000 41K
Mate: Thezs dargmants
. are in Adobe Acrabat
hewsroom Order for Selected Sales & Use Tax Publications - Form 59K HELCT (T T 1) 3
S1A115 download a free copy of
About Us = is 2 the Adobe Acrobat Reader
click on the following icon,
Contact Us Application for Purchase Exemption - Form 514125 36K Lﬂﬁgrag:be'
Software Developer's
Information Purchase Exernption Certificate - Form 514126 BK

Out-of-State Purchase Exermption Certificate - Form 514127 | 29K

Solid Waste Recycling Machinery Exemption Certificate - 13K
Form 514123

Energy Exermption Annual Return - Form 514129

Monthly Aviation Fuel Tax Credit Schedule of Qualified 37k
Certificated Air Carriers - Form 514130

Monthly Aviation Fuel Dealer Supplementary Schedule

Kentucky Sales & Use Tax Equine Breeders Supplementary

Schedule

Kentucky Sales Tax Motor Vehicle Sales Supplementary

Schedule

Purchase Exemption Certificate Watercraft Industry - Form 26K
214143

Certificate of Exemption for Pollution Control Facilities - 61K

Form 514149
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Adrcraft Exemption Certificate - Form 514150

Certificate of Exemption-Water Used In Raising Equine -
Form 514157

Farm Exemption Certificate - Form 514158

On-Farm Facilities Certificate of Exemption for Materials,
Machinery & Equipment - Form 514159

Application for Truck Part Direct Pay Authorization - Form
S14160

Application for Kentudky Enterprise Initiative Act{kKEIA) Tax
Credit Program - Form 514200

KY Sales & Use Tax Instructions - Form 514205

Sales & Use Tax Refund Application - Form 514209

Application for Pollution Control Tax Exemption Certificate -
Form 514216

Certificate of Exemption for Alcohol Production Facilities -
Form 514222

Kentucky Sales & Use Tax Certificate of Resale (Schools) -
Form 514227

Application for Fluidized Bed Combustion Technology Tax
Exermnption Certificate - Form 514228

Fluidized Bed Combustion Technology Tax Exemption
Certificate - Form 514229

Reqgistration for the Kentucky Sales & lse Tax Refund for
Motion Picture & Television Production Companies - Form
514241

Application for Sales & Use Tax Refund for Motion Picture
Production Company - Form 514242

Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement - Certificate of Exemption -

Form 514260

Certificate of Sales Tax Pald on the Purchase of a Motor
Vehicle - Form 514270

Out-Of-State Purchase - Use Tax Affidavit - Form 514280

Information Sharing and Assignment Agreement for
Cesignated Refund Claims - Form 51A290

Application for Kentudky Signature Project Sales and Use Tax
Refund - Form 514291

Expenditure Report for Signature Project Refunds - Form
S1A292

10K

36K

73K

71K

71K

57K

73K

18K

18K

59K

306K

344K

26K

51K

342K

18K

37K

63K

GOK

55K

51K
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Application for Preapproval for Energy Efficlency Machinery or  gq
Equipment - Form 51 4300

Application for Kentudky alternative Fuel, Gasification, and
Renewable Energy Facility Sales and Use Tax Refund - Form
S148300

Expenditure Report for alternative Fuel, Gasification, and
Renewable Fnergy Facility Refunds - Form 51A302

Information Sharing and Assignment Agreement for Energy 97K
Efficiency Project Incentive - Form 51 A350

Application for Energy Efficiency Machinery or Equipment =4
Sales and Use Tax Incentive - Form 514351

Affidavit of Non-Highway Use - Forr 724007 39K
UGRLT Energy Exemption Annual Return, Form 734902 HAK

Last Updated 2/3/2009

‘3 Local intranet
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